Family

The Day We Got Blueberry

This is a story of how I got Blueberry. This is Blueberry.

  Yes. She is smirking and posing as if she is the queen of the world. She is also squinting her eyes at you as if you’re no better than her.

I have a Blue Merle Cardigan Corgi named Blueberry. I believe she is a Blue Merle Cardigan, but we aren’t a hundred percent sure. In case you are thinking that, I did not name her Blueberry after her type (Blue Merle Cardigan). Before I go into details, I have a sort-of funny story to tell you how we got her. It’s quite long, so ensure that you have some time to read all of this shizznit.

In March of 2013, I lost my long-haired Chihuahua named Kiwi. How is this funny already? You might think. I’m getting there, bear with me. After we lost Kiwi, the house felt empty. All my life, – ever since I was born – I had furry four-legged animals around. I believe the longest we have gone without having a dog in the house was when Kiwi died. If you are wondering, Kiwi died of old age and couldn’t function properly by herself. We had to put her to sleep. She was 11 years old. We went five months without any signs of furry animals in the house. Kiwi and I did not really connect well. Despite the disconnection between us, I adored her. My time was invested in school, after school activities, sports, friends, parties, and so on. I had a busy schedule, therefore I was not home often enough to grow and build a strong relationship with dogs like I had wished. I try my best to take the time and make their presence known, though.Anyway, back to the story you are all waiting for…

Five months later.

It’s August 19, 2013. I’m napping in my bed. It’s approximately 2pm. I was on the verge of being half-asleep and half-awake.

Thump. Thump. Thump.

I thought to myself as my eyes were closed, “Where the heck is all of this thumping coming from? Grandpa’s probably nailing something on the roof. I hope I’ll be able to ignore it. I need my fuckin’ nap.”

Thump. Thump. Thump.

“Weird,” I thought. “The thumping feels closer than it did a few minutes ago. It feels like they’re right beside my bed.”

This time, it wasn’t merely a thump. It was THUMP, THUMP, THUMP.

“Oh, for goodness sake. I can’t sleep now!” I thought as I opened my eyes.

I proceeded to get out of bed and checked outside of my window. I opened the blinds and I see mom’s face right by the window.

“Finally! I’ve been trying to get your attention for the past five or ten minutes! I locked myself outside of the house and my keys are in there. Can you unlock the door for me?” My mom signed through the window.

“I was taking a nap and I thought Grandpa was nailing the roof or something. Okay, I’ll go open it now.” I replied back.

I unlocked the door and proceeded to go back into my room and lay on my bed. I had hoped I would be able to take a real nap this time. After closing my eyes for ten or so minutes, I couldn’t do it. I felt as if I was awake enough.

“Ugh, great. The nap is definitely not going to happen. Thanks, Mom,” I thought to myself.

I decided to grab a bite from the kitchen. Once again, I got out of the bed and walked towards the kitchen.

Scratch. Scratch. Scratch.

“What the hell is that?” I asked myself.

It appeared to be a ball of silver fur with black specks and a white collar lying down and scratching itself against the glass sliding door.

“Is that a dog? Where did it come from? Hey, there’s Grandpa sitting on the chair outside with the dog. Did he get the dog?” I wondered.

As I stepped outside, I asked Grandpa where he got the dog.

“I have no idea. I got home five minutes ago and I opened the gate to see this dog running towards me from the backyard.” Grandpa told me.

“It came from the backyard? How did it get in the backyard with all of the fences and the gate we have?” Puzzled, I asked Grandpa, while thinking of all possible things that could have occurred to get the dog into our backyard, only to not come up with a single possible thing. “You aren’t making things up are you, Grandpa? You didn’t get the dog yourself and pretended it came out of nowhere? This doesn’t make sense to me at all.”

“Farrah, I got home and I saw the dog running from the backyard. That’s all I have to say. I did not get the dog myself and pretended it was a stray dog or something. I did see a car driving past our house in some sort of a rush last night. Maybe the owner dumped the dog on our street in hopes of her finding a home. I don’t really know for sure.” 

I still had some doubts in me, despite what Grandpa had said, “All right, if you say so.”

It has been an hour since my mom left and she is oblivious that we have a dog sitting on our porch. I was in awe of this dog’s unique fur color. It’s a girl, I checked. I continued to stare at her while she was scratching. It was obvious she had fleas. “Poor thing,” I thought solemnly.

I took my phone out of my back pocket of my jeans and placed it in front of me. My thumb is ready to press the shutter button. “Yoo-hoo! Hi! Look at me,” I exclaimed in order to get her attention. Now panting due to the summer heat, I pressed the shutter button on my phone as soon as she lifted her head.

This is the very first picture I took of Blueberry.  

In the ‘to:’ text box on my phone, I typed in ‘Mom.’ I attached the picture I just took of Blueberry with the words, ‘Look! We have a dog on our porch. She came out of nowhere. She’s so beautiful. You’ll like her,’ and pressed ‘Send.’

While waiting for Mom’s reply, I went back to take a look at this beautiful dog. She was scratching and panting. I wanted to bring her inside the house where it’s cooler, but my mom has a pet peeve of having fleas inside the house. “It’s nearly 4pm now and it’s getting hotter. I should ask Grandpa if we could take her inside,” I thought to myself as I watched the dog’s constant scratching.

“Hey Grandpa, it’s getting hotter. Do you think it’ll be okay if we bring her inside the house where it’s cooler?” I asked grandpa as I looked at him.

“I guess so,” Grandpa shrugged.

“Come on girl! Let’s go inside where it’s cooler,” My right hand repeatedly tapped on my right leg in order to have her attention as I opened the glass sliding door as a gesture to have her come inside.

She didn’t hesitate to walk inside the house.

Brrrr. Brrrr. Br. My phone vibrated in the back pocket. I took the phone out and opened the passcode. I see my Mom has replied.

‘No. She is too big. We can’t keep her,’ Mom texted back.

The picture I sent Mom of the dog did not do the dog justice. The dog did look a bit bigger in the picture than she did in real life. You can see the proof of the picture above and if you have met her in person, then you’d know she isn’t as big as the picture appears her to be.

‘No. She is not big. She’s medium-sized. I want to keep her. You will love her! Trust me,’ I replied, hoping Mom will change her mind as she comes back home. I was committed and ready to have another dog. It was getting so lonely around the house.

One hour-ish later. Mom pulled into the driveway. She’s home.

The dog was barking constantly by the glass sliding door, watching Mom open the gate, proceed to walk on the stairs and come inside.

“Where did this dog come from?” My mom signed.

I had explained to her what Grandpa had told me. 

“That doesn’t sound right,” Mom said with one of her eyebrows raised.

“My thoughts exactly,” I agreed.

“We need to find the owner. Maybe the owner left the door open and the dog ran away. We will have to walk around and put an ad up somewhere about this missing dog. We will not keep her,” Mom sincerely said.

“Ugh… Fine. If we can’t find the owners within two weeks, then we can keep her?”

“We will see. It’s not a definite yes.”

Two weeks later.

We have taken the dog to a liking thus far. Mom, Grandpa and I all agreed to keep her. We have tried our best to look for the owners nearby, but we couldn’t find anybody. I have agreed to keep her since day one, but I was thrilled Mom approved of keeping this dog. She had a difficult time dealing with Kiwi’s death. She and Kiwi were connected like no other. Now, since we have decided to keep her, the next step is to name her. I came up with three names.

Africa. Pepper. Blueberry.

“Africa? That can be kind of racist and maybe some people would take it the wrong way,” My Grandpa suggested.

“I guess you’re right. In the worst possible case scenario if the dog decides to run after a squirrel or whatever, it could go something like this: ‘AFRICA!!!! Stop! Africa, stay! No, don’t run after the squirrel, Africa!’ I would say while chasing after the dog and people could mistake that as racist because after all, there are plenty of uptight people out there.” I laughed. “Okay, that’s crossed off the list. Now we have Pepper and Blueberry. Pepper fits her since she has black spots and specks on her fur. Blueberry is also a good fit.”

“They’re both great choices. I think I like Blueberry better,” Mom said as she gave her opinion.

“Yeah, I agree,” Grandpa nodded. “I can nickname her Blue, since dogs listen better when the name has one syllable.”

“Yeah,” I smiled. “I think I will start my own tradition from now on, naming dogs after a fruit. First it was Kiwi, now it’ll be Blueberry. One day we could have a dog named Banana or Mango. I like this idea.”

And thus, the name ‘Blueberry’ was born.

It’s been two years since Blueberry first came to us. She is such a joy to be around. She is also the first dog I’ve ever had that I feel more connected to than the past dogs we had. Since the first day she “mysteriously” appeared in our backyard, we discovered she had a thing for playing ball. Ever since the first day, she has not gone A SINGLE DAY without playing ball. Except for that one time when she chewed on my favorite pair of sandals once, we wanted her to learn her lesson by not playing ball with her for the entire day. It worked. She has not chewed on shoes ever again ever since. I have a small (but healthy!) obsession with Blueberry. #noshame.

Anyway, I wanted to have the backstory of how we got her in the first place so you will understand how much Blueberry means to me. Having explained the story, I have given this a thought and decided to start planning for an album that will be all about Blueberry. I’m not sure which I will be doing yet: a mini album, or a medium sized album, or something like a 12×12 album. I think I will most likely be doing an 8×8 album. I have so many pictures of Blueberry since the first day we got her. I have a huge pet peeve with picture count in my laptop. I would prefer to keep the picture count up to 3 or 4 thousand ish. Right now, I have a total of approximately 3.5k worth of pictures in my laptop. NO, THEY’RE NOT ALL OF BLUEBERRY. They’re just 3.5k worth of general pictures that I have. I am not quite sure how many pictures of Blueberry I have. I would guess approximately 300-400? I told you I have a small (but healthy!) obsession with Blueberry.

If we have her for 6 or more/or so years (we think she is about 6 years old now), that would probably add up to another 1k-1.8k ish worth of pictures. I definitely do not want to put myself through that stress of having to print 2k pictures which is 8 years’ worth of pictures. Therefore, I am planning an album design and all of that shizznit. I am still deciding whether I should go for a photo book or an album in which I can insert pictures inside the pocket pages. Decisions, decisions. I’m quite excited for this project. I should be able to update you when I have started and include some progress pictures and details (that is, if I remember). I am trying to decide if I should categorize the pictures of Blueberry by year (2013, 2014, 2015) or by the pictures itself (Sleeping Blueberry, Blueberry & Her Lover (the ball, of course), Blueberry & Family, and so on). I’m still thinking about it.

I am also thinking of combining all videos together that I have taken of Blueberry for the purpose of memory keeping. I am starting to get into memory keeping as I would love to relieve the memories years later after the pictures or videos were taken. That’s for another time. I wanted to throw this in.

Again, I’m truly excited for this project!

Here’s one more picture of my darling Blueberry. 

 
If you have read thus far, you’re awesome. Later, brah

Leave a Reply

